Tokyo, Japan

Tokyo is the capital of Japan and the seat of the Emperor of Japan and the Japanese government. The Greater Tokyo Area is the most populous metropolitan area in the world. Tokyo is also one of Japan's 47 prefectures, consisting of 23 central city wards and multiple cities, towns and villages west of the city center. Prior to 1868, Tokyo was known as Edo. A small castle town in the 16th century, Edo became Japan's political center in 1603 when Tokugawa Ieyasu established his feudal government there. Today, Tokyo offers a seemingly unlimited choice of shopping, entertainment, culture and dining to its visitors today. The city's history can be appreciated in districts such as Asakusa, and in many excellent museums, historic temples and gardens. Contrary to common perception, Tokyo also offers a number of attractive green spaces in the city center and within relatively short train rides at its outskirts.


The University of Tokyo

The University of Tokyo (UTokyo) is the oldest national university in Japan as well as Japan’s top and one of Asia’s most comprehensive research universities. The University of Tokyo was chartered by the Meiji government in 1877 under its current name by merging the Tokyo Kaisei School and Tokyo Medical School to create the four Faculties of Law, Science, Letters and Medicine. At first, the three Faculties of Law, Science and Letters were located in the Kanda area, while the Faculty of Medicine was established in the Hongo area. From these beginnings, the University of Tokyo continued to merge with many different schools specializing in various fields, such as the Imperial College of Engineering and Tokyo School of Agriculture and Forestry, thereby growing into a comprehensive research university. The University also has experienced a number of name changes over the years. Due to the incorporation of all national universities in 2004, the University’s full name is now National University Corporation, the University of Tokyo.

Currently, the University of Tokyo is comprised of 10 Faculties, 15 Graduate Schools, 11 affiliated research institutes (including the Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology), 13 University-wide centers, three affiliated libraries and two institutes for advanced study. Furthermore, the Faculties, Graduate Schools and research institutes have facilities associated with them; for instance, the University of Tokyo Hospital is one such facility.

In addition to the three main campuses in Hongo, Komaba and Kashiwa, facilities affiliated with the University of Tokyo are spread all throughout Japan.


Conference site-Yayoi Auditorium (弥生講堂)

The Biomaterials International 2018 will take place at the Yayoi Auditorium located inside the Hongo campus of the University of Tokyo. Yayoi Auditorium Annex was built on the campus of the Faculty of Agriculture, The University of Tokyo. The place had long been a green belt, and the building was built in high consideration of history, landscape and environment. The building contains a gallery suitable for receptions and symposiums, and a laboratory for the graduate school members who study wooden buildings. By using the trees grown in the area, the gallery was built to match with the surrounding environment. The gallery was structured by 8 pieces of shells and the laboratory was structured by one sided rigid frame where artificially dried Japanese cypresses were used. Japanese cedar with heat treatment and some other wooden materials were used as the finished materials inside and outside the building to match with the copperplate roof and the grind concrete floor, considering the harmony with the neighboring Gothic buildings on the same campus. The gallery was intended to be the place where people gather at and feel comfortable with the play of sunlight through the surrounding trees.




Google Guide Map

--Address: 〒113-8657 東京都文京区弥生1-1-1 東京大学農学部内 (1-1-1 Yayoi, Bunkyo Ku, Tokyo 〒113-8657, Japan)

--Tel: 03-5841-8205 Fax: 03-5841-5028